Spectral Theory and pRObability in Mathematical physics (STROM)

June 08 to June 10, 2020


IRMA, Université de Strasbourg

organized by

Nalini Anantharaman, Yohann Le Floch, Martin Vogel, Xiaolin Zeng

This workshop focuses on Spectral Theory and Probability in Mathematical Physics, in particular on Random Matrices, Random Schrödinger Operators and Statistical mechanics.

Strasbourg is a lovely town in the northeastern part of France, located at the border with Germany; below you can find some pictures of the city.

Funding: We have additional funding possibilities to cover travel and hotel costs for interested participants. PostDoc and PhD students are particularly invited to apply for funding.

Mini course and talks

Mini course on:

Topological materials (three mini-courses)

  • SPEAKER: Jean Bellissard

  • Affiliation:

    • Westphälische Wilhelm- Universität, Münster, Germany
    • Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta GA, USA
  • Title: Noncommutative Topology for Aperiodic Systems in Condensed Matter Physics (three mini-courses)

  • Abstract:

    1. The Hydrogen atom: Quantum numbers, symmetries, persistence, a motivation for topological invariants. Introduction to K-theory. Observables and K-theory. Quantum numbers and quantum information. Influence of Quantum Chaos, the example of the Hydrogen atom in a strong magnetic field.
    2. Aperiodic materials: (a) examples (b) mathematical description. Homogeneity, translation symmetry, fundamental observables. C*-algebras. Hamiltonian and Energy. Examples of Hamiltonian. Energy spectrum, Cantor . Gap labeling theorems. A list of examples and of results.
    3. A (too) short description of the Integer Quantum Hall Effect. Concept of localization, the Kubo formula. Noncommutative Chern character. Plateaus of conductivity and persistence.


  • Jonas Arista University College Dublin
  • Yannick Guedes Bonthonneau CNRS et Université Rennes 1
  • Jean Bellissard Westphälische Wilhelm- Universität, Münster, Germany and Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta GA, USA
  • Charles Bordenave CNRS et Institut de Mathématiques de Marseille
  • Nicholas Cook Stanford University
  • Mitia Duerinckx CNRS et Université Paris-Sud
  • Yichao Huang University of Helsinki
  • Frédéric Naud Sorbonne Université
  • San Vũ Ngọc Université de Rennes 1
  • Alejandro Rivera École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
  • Maurizia Rossi University of Milano-Bicocca
  • Johannes Sjöstrand1 CNRS et Université de Bourgogne
  • Wei-min Wang CNRS et Université Paris-Sud
  • Wei Wu The University of Warwick

  1. To be confirmed [return]


Template by Bootstrapious. Ported to Hugo by DevCows